I choose to believe in choosing my beliefs.

Okay, so I have this writing assignment for class. In 500 words or less, I have to write about what I believe. One, absolute, soul-defining thing. Damn. Well, I thought i’d write it here too, for the sake of posting too.

Let’s hope it ends up being good.

Choice means being able to decide whether or not you wish to be the creator of your own life. It means knowing that everything within your life is something that you created, all the good things with the bad, and all the meaning behind why it has become a part of your existence.

I was introduced to this concept during my younger years. At that time, the main draw was that if everything was a choice, then there was nothing that I had to do, only that which I wished to do. It became the tool I used to justify not doing my homework or being kind to others. Needless to say, my mother did not take kindly to my newfound liberation from her rules. What she did not realize however, was that this belief brought truth and meaning to my life.

The truth is that you are the sole architect of your life and that nothing is without your making. This means that everything in your life matters far more because you are no longer living for the sake of living, but living for the sake of creating a meaningful existence. Armed with this revelation, I began to uncover why I do the things I do, and why things are the way they are within the lives of others.

Doing my homework and being kind to others became things that I wanted to do and things that I enjoyed doing. I wanted to do my homework so that I could learn the material and I wanted to be kind so that I may feel the elation of their gratitude. It was no longer because “my mom said so” or that “it’s the rules.” This manifested immense meaning in my life through knowing the reasoning behind my choices.

I could now see that my bad grades were not the direct result of the fighting between my parents, but were in actuality the result of my choice to squander my time in attempting to quell it. Any victimization I felt vanished and all the blame and potential fame became mine to take. It would seem that I had simply forgot this intrinsic truth of choice that all of humanity is given.

With this thought and all the other things that I choose to believe, I try to maintain a mind open with wonder and not closed by belief, because If everything is a choice, then nothing is an absolute. While there is a sense of pride and power in accepting this idea, there is also a deeply humbling aspect that is a tad more subtle. If I believe that nothing is an absolute, then I believe there could be something else in the world that I know not of. My mind ought to be open to the wondrous things that are out there.

There are intricacies and subtleties that interconnect the belief of choice with others, which changed the way I viewed my other beliefs and the nature of belief itself.

Leave a Reply

